< MaiKaMahi
04.20.02
Today is my wedding day!!!! Adam and I decided to elope since none of my family would have come up for the wedding anyway. We figure, why wait? I will still stay in Idaho until he has an apartment and a car, but at least we won't have to wait to get married to move in together once he does. And, I can get the whole name change, military ID thing done beforehand, too.

Yesterday Gretta, Adam, the kids, and I went into Logan to get some stuff, namely a dress for me to wear. We went to Shopco and couldn't find anything at all. Then we went to Wal-Mart, and still couldn't find anything. While we were there, Gretta suggested that I pick out a pattern and she would make me a dress. So, we went to the sewing section and I picked out a pattern for a really pretty skirt and got some nice satin-ey material and she made me a skirt and a petticoat thing. It is sooooooooooo pretty. It is going to have that old fashioned looking eyelet lace at the bottom and everything. I also found a really pretty lacy white top at Wal-Mart, too. So I will actually look like I am wearing a wedding dress. Not very fancy, but very very pretty. Now I just have to figure out what to do with my hair!!!!

Adam didn't plan ahead for this AT ALL. He didn't even bring a uniform in case he had nothing else to wear. I know that guys in the Army don't want to wear their uniforms to get married in, but it is better than a plaid shirt and khaki pants, don'tcha think?? He and Gretta went to Logan this morning to get a few last minute things, and to get her a dress and him something halfway nice to wear.

I am still not really nervous either. I think eloping makes it alot less stressful, and doing all of this so fast doesn't give me any time to worry really. Thank goodness for that. I know that on the way to the church I will be nervous, but that is mostly because we haven't rehearsed at all. In fact we just barely got a hold of the bishop last night. It should be fast and simple though, which will be nice.

Tomorrow is the reception/family party. Gretta is just going to invite everybody over here, and we are going to hang out and eat mexican food. YUM! Pepsi, Elliot, and Chen are all coming up too, plus we are inviting some people from church (like our landlord/next door neighbors, and home teacher). Pepsi is making me a wedding cake!!! How sweet is that? Totally last minute, too. She even went to the store at like midnight last night after she decided to do it for me, and bought stuff to make frosting and cake mix. She started making litle roses to put on the cake last night and everything. I really, REALLY, love my friends right now.....

Before & After

Weekend Ruined
I GOT MARRIED!!!!!


quote

navigate

did you miss?

links

Member of the Solo-Ops diaryring
next - prev - random - list
home - Diaryland