< MaiKaMahi
07.05.03
Well, Adam finally came and talked to me about what has been bothering him, and it's bad. His unit is trying to get him kicked out of the Army. One of the higher ups has decided that Adam is not NCO material, and they are trying to push to give him an article 15, which would in turn demote him, which would in turn get him a general discharge for being an E3 with over 4 years in. That means no benefits when he gets out, they will dock his pay until he gets out, and he may lose his G.I. Bill. I am so lost as to what to do right now. This has been going on for two months, and Adam never told me about it until this morning. He thought he could handle it himself and I would never have to find out. Now instead of telling him that he is in danger of being discharged because he hasn't been promoted, they are telling him he will definately be discharged. I keep racking my brain for ways that we can fight it, but in the end it really won't matter because there is no fighting the Army. The unit says they only want "elite" soldiers in it, and Adam apparently isn't elite enough for them because he doesn't brag about everything he does all the time, he isn't a complete dickhead, and he doesn't yell and scream at people when they make a mistake. The fact that he is out of the unit in 4 months doesn't matter to whatever officer has decided that Adam isn't good enough. He wants to get him out of the Army before he has a chance to go to AIT, or Adam may actually get to finish his enlistment. Like that would be so horrible.

I did my best to boost Adam's confidence and convince him that he is not just another soldier and the Army does need him, but I don't think he believes in himself as much as I believe in him. He is going to go to his SSG's house today and talk to her, and then go into his 1SGT's office on Tuesday and talk to him. He is going to schedule an appointment for a cortizone shot in his hip for ASAP, and try to be the Army's idea of a good soldier, and prove to them that he deserves to be in the Army, and hopefully they will at least let him leave the unit without ruining his life.

I am so lost right now. I have no idea what to feel. I am worried that this is going to break him.

Before & After

Coming soon...
Short update.


quote

navigate

did you miss?

links

Member of the Solo-Ops diaryring
next - prev - random - list
home - Diaryland