< MaiKaMahi
02.24.02
Today was Adam's last day here. We took him to the airport this morning. Since last night was our last night together, we went out to dinner. Just him and me. We went to the Grill, which his aunt and uncle own. I even dressed up in a skirt and everything! I had been feeling alot better after I ranted about the things that were bothering me, so yesterday and the day before me and Adam were pretty inseperable. I was really looking forward to having dinner just me and him, but didn't think anything big about it. It was my first "real" official date though. Kinda weird considering that I have been in a few serious relationships, but still my first "real" date. Anyway, we went to the restaurant around 8pm, and had some seafood pasta. Everyone there kept telling me to save room for dessert, and since I never have dessert when I go there, I figure that was why. Well, when his aunt brought out our raspberry cheesecake for dessert, she had a vase of flowers in her hands. She told me that Adam wanted me to have them since it was his last night here. Then she set the cheesecake on the table and mine had a ring in it!!!! Right there in front of everyone he got on one knee and proposed to me! It was the sweetest thing ever. All of a sudden everything made sense. Why everyone had been telling me to save room for dessert, why Gretta told me to dress up, why we had to have dinner at the Grill, why Adam and Gretta had to go around the mall all by themselves, and why he went out for lunch with his grandpa later in the week. Of course I said yes. All of the things that had been annoying me all week left my mind. I was sooooooo happy, and it felt so right, so we are now engaged. Now I have a beautiful ring on my finger, and a wonderful man who will be my husband. I had gone with Gretta a week or so before Adam got here to look at rings so she could tell him what I wanted if he ever did decide to propose. I had no idea he was already going to and I was picking out my ring for the next week. He didn't get the one I picked out, but the one he did get is better than the one I wanted! It is a marquis cut diamond solitare. Absolutely gorgeous. When he actually proposed, his aunt was standing behind him looking over his shoulder at me, his uncle was standing at the register in the restaurant looking at me, and two of the waitresses were on the tippy toes looking at me. I was just totally speechless, my jaw dropped to my feet with my hand over my mouth. The last two customers that were left in the restaurant besides Adam and me were walking out the door as he got down on his knee, so they were looking back into the restaurant trying to catch a glimpse of what was going on. I couldn't finish my dessert after that, I was totally shaking. So we went out to the van to go home, and while we were in the parking lot he said the sweetest thing. I told him that he was crazy, because of the way he pulled it all off, and he told me "Yeah, well this lunatic is in love with you." How sweet is that? I swear everyone was in on this and I had absolutely NO IDEA! His grandma and grandpa knew. His grandpa even took him to pick up the ring after the store sized it, and suggested doing it at the Grill in my dessert. He wanted to find a violin player, too, but thank goodness Adam's grandma and aunt told him no. Gretta was in on it because she did all of the sneaking around and lying to me to get me to pick a ring and get my finger sized. I know she told her husband and my "other mother", Chen, because they have both told me that they knew a secret but couldn't tell me what it was. Chen was dangling it over me as much as she possibly could, too! Anyway, that is my huge life changing news. We don't have a date, but I am sure I will be writing about all of the plans in here when we make them. I changed my entire life yesterday with one word.....

Before & After

Dragons, square pants, and high school
My mind is racing already


quote

navigate

did you miss?

links

Member of the Solo-Ops diaryring
next - prev - random - list
home - Diaryland